Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Northern New York New Memeber (Read 2323 times)
Mike Klein
No Posts Yet

Ski Flyer

Northern New York New Memeber
Oct 3rd, 2007 at 2:52pm
Print Post  
Hi All,
    Just stumbled across your forum on my search for skis for my Stinson 108-3 which I just got a few weeks ago.  I have just come across some EDO2425's and will be putting them and a float kit on this spring.  But we have far to many frozen lakes up here that look like they'd be great for ski flying, so I am thinking that maybe this winter I can start.  I have no ski or float experience but do have about 300hrs total (flying for the last year) and know that I want to bush fly.  I am a enthusiastic outdoor adventurer who does just about everything you can do outside (my profession is in the outdoor industry).  Look forward to learning a lot from you guys..

Mike Klein Grin

IP Logged

MN_GB
Some Posts

I love YaBB 1 Gold!

Re: Northern New York New Memeber
Reply #1 - Oct 8th, 2007 at 3:34am
Print Post  
Hi Mike, welcome to the forum and have a great time ski flying this winter. Smiley Cool

GB&&7DC Champ and A Kitfox III

IP Logged

Doug Beck
Administrator

1945 7DC

Re: Northern New York New Memeber
Reply #2 - Oct 8th, 2007 at 6:06pm
Print Post  
Welcome to the forum Mike.  Things should start spooling up around here pretty soon.

If your first experience with ski-flying is to be anything like mine, you will be SHOCKED at how much fun it is.  I had landed my Champ off airport occasionally on wheels but now the whole world is opened up to you when the lakes freeze.

I remember once reading a quote by Charles Lindbergh stating something to the effect that flying is both wonderful and cruel to a pilot because although it lets you view a whole new world, it also separates you from it first-hand.  Ha - not so with a set of trusty Federals bolted on.